FER Sponsors

Texas has established a formula to calculate what amount a non-custodial parent should pay for child support. If your net monthly income is less than $6000, Texas law has established the following guidelines for child support payments. The amount withheld is based on your net income each month.

  • 20 percent for one child
  • 25 percent for two children
  • 30 percent for three children
  • 35 percent for four children
  • 40 percent for five children
  • Not less than 40 percent for six children

Special rules apply in cases of split or joint placement or multiple children in different households. If a court believes that you are not making as much money as you should, the child support amount may be based on your earning potential. This is income that you could potentially earn.

A different formula to determine the amount of support may apply when you have multiple children in different households. It is important that you let the judge or child support master know that you support other children who have a different mother.

Support issues depend entirely on state laws. Please check your State Family Code for your state guidelines.

From the Texas Q and A Handbook for Non-Custodial Parents, Office of John Cornyn, Texas Attorney General

Fathers For Equal Rights empowered me to do the right thing for my son through critical knowledge, and strategic access to affordable legal assistance.
  -- David A. - Dallas, TX

FER Sponsors